Wednesday, 8 February 2012

Madonna is returning to Australia in 2013

Get ready, Australia: Madonna is returning to Australia in 2013 to wrap up her next world tour. It will be her first time touring the country in 20 years, and fans will be thrilled after she skipped Australia in her last four world tours.

Her manager Guy Oseary said in 2009, "Madonna really needs to go to Australia. We are long overdue for a trip Down Under and apologise for that, it will happen." The tour kicks off in Tel Aviv on May 9, and will go through Europe and South America before arriving here. Cities and dates haven’t been announced yet.

Madonna has been the music star on everyone’s lips following her Super Bowl half-time performance on Monday, where she sang and danced to a medley of her songs in a grand production. One of her supporting acts, M.I.A., also made headlines for making a rude gesture that was caught on the live telecast and in photos.

David Myles: Into The Sun Review

Since he removed himself from his early path into government and politics some eight years ago, David Myles has been continuing to climb the ladder of the Canadian and global music biz.
He has won or been nominated in multiple categories of the East Coast Music Awards and Folk Music Awards.

The Halifax singer-songwriter, guitarist and trumpeter hasn’t been the easiest talent to market.
His sound touches on folk, soul and jazz, drawing inspiration from soul singer Sam Cooke and jazz crooner Chet Baker among others, and his last 2010 album Turn Time Off was a decidedly night-oriented disc produced by Joel Plaskett.

Now Myles has taken it another direction on his fifth CD Into the Sun, tapping his love of Brazilian and African rhythms in songs that are positively sunny, borrowing from gentle samba grooves and guitar sounds to weave a spell with his cool hooks. There are even a couple of instrumental tracks.
“It was a big step out of a lot of comfort zones,” admits Myles. “Up until now, my stuff changed genres but it was pretty based in traditional song formats. I wanted to experiment a bit more, particularly with world music, with rhythmic stuff and harmonies.”

1. Run – (Lyrics)
2. Simple Pleasures – (Lyrics)
3. I’ll Never Know – (Lyrics)
4. The Sea
5. Long Dark Night – (Lyrics)
6. Don’t Look Back – (Lyrics)
7. Leaving – (Lyrics)
8. Nina – (Lyrics)
9. Falling In Love – (Lyrics)
10. The Bottom
11. Ooh La La – (Lyrics)
12. Time To Be A Man – (Lyrics)
Bonus track:
Simple Pleasures (Classified mix)
David Myles official website

Music News Australia

Saint Jude: All Ways Were Lost Review

'All Ways Were Lost' is a soulful summer retreat and the first single off their forthcoming debut full length player, set to be released via Cobra Snake Necktie/Love & Theft in March 2012.

In their own words Saint Jude are a Melbourne based five-piece featuring Bill Deeble, Brooke Penrose, Ryan McCarthy, Bern McMahon and Mick Stylianou. They play gospel tinged, punk/country, garage blues, with a rock'n'roll swagger.

*free download available now through or iTunes


All Ways Were Lost

Rain Is Falling Down

Patrick's Blues